Chard Cheese Bake

Oh, the lovely Swiss Chard. When I first started joining CSAs  four years ago,  the greens often went to waste. There were only so many I could chop for scrambled eggs.  The second year, we split a share and I usually gave them to our share-ers. After cooking them for-ever, my friend decided they hated greens.

Then, this year, I took a “cooking with greens” class at my new CSA. Knowledge is definitely power. I discovered that you can substitute swiss chard for any spinach recipe (just leave out the stems or cook them for an additional time). Also kale and swiss chard can sometimes be substituted, it just takes longer for kale to cook. Oh, and most people don’t use the stems or use them for soup. That right there was a huge revelation! Here I had been chewing the kale stems all along, trying to make myself like greens.

Now that I know what to do with them, they are a regular part of our diet and much less has gone to waste. I still have frozen a few bunches this summer. A bunch of kale and a bunch of swiss chard (plus the occasional beet greens/kohlrabi greens) makes for a LOT of greens!

I tried this recipe from Simply in Season this morning, and I think it will go on my “to make again” list.

1 lb (or 1 bunch) cholaborday 014pped Swiss Chard or spinach (cook and drain. Or carefully saute on a dry pan)

4 eggs (beaten), 1 C milk, 1 C shredded cheese (I used colby jack), 1 C cubed bread (I used Ezekiel sprouted grain), 1/2 C green onions, 1/4 C parmesan cheese (I used the green can, that’s my flameworthy confession for the day. I couldn’t find my shredder).

Mix all up all of the above and bake at 375  for 25-30 minutes until set. The recipe says to use a 2 qt baking dish.

Review: I liked the cheesy goodness, and DH said it wasn’t bad either. Next time he would omit the bread (he and his family have this weird thing about soggy bread.) I would like to add tomatoes and mushrooms (I”m a mushroom fiend). Either way, it’s a keeper.

Leave a Reply

