Eggplant Cheese Pie

This recipe turned out way more tasty than I expected. The only disappointing thing was that it turned out a bit soupy – easy enough to drain but I’m thinking even including the egg that I didn’t have wouldn’t have set it up the way I would have liked. I will experiment with thickener next time. Even DH liked it – but, of course, he said “this would be better with chicken.” LOL.

eggplantcheesepie 001So if you, too, have eggplants coming out of your ears here is a great recipe.

Get out a big frying pan and saute 4 1/2 C of eggplant, 1 onion, and 2 cloves of garlic in a bit of olive oil for 2 minutes. Cover, and cook for 5 minutes or until eggplant is soft.

Then add 1 tsp oregano and 1 tsp basil and a dash of salt.

Chop up a small zucchini and cover the bottom and sides of a pie plate, kind of a zucchini crust. Then mix up 1 egg (which I didn’t have so I omitted), 2/3 C evaporated milk (I substituted 1 C milk and 1/3 C powdered milk), and 2 C mozzarella cheese.

I used homemade mozzarella which I think made this extra tasty.

Spoon the eggplant mixture over the zucchini, pour the milk/cheese mixture over that, and bake at 375 for 30 minutes. Quick, nutritious, and delicious!

4 Responses to “Eggplant Cheese Pie”

  1. Jenn Says:

    I’ve been having issues with watery food when I make recipes with zucchini and eggplant. I made a zucchini lasagna the other night and had to drain the water out. It was good, but a little bit of a pain to drain.

    Anyways, thanks for the recipe–I need to use up the zucchini and eggplants before they go bad!

  2. Karin Says:

    I am wondering if putting salt on them and letting them have that extra water be absorbed prior to cooking would help! This looks good. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

