Nutty Pumpkin Bread

pumpkinbreadThis was the only autumn bread recipe from Simply in Season that I can eat/make since I’m allergic to cranberries (keep an eye out for guest bloggers, though!)

Dry ingredients: 1 1/2 C flour, 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour, 1 C wheat germ, 1 C sugar (I ran out and used about 3/4 C sugar and 1/4 C stevia for baking), 1 C brown sugar, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each ginger, nutmeg, cloves (optinal). Mix together and make a well.

Wet ingredients: 2 1/2 C pumpkin, 4 eggs (slightly beaten), 1/2 C oil, 1/2 C pecans or other nuts, 1 C raisins or dates (chopped, optional). Add to the well and mix until just moistened. Pour into 2 greased 9×5 inch loaf pans and bake at 350F until toothpick inserted in center of loaves comes out clean, 50 minutes. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Loosen edges and turn the loaf out onto the rack to cool completely before slicing.

The verdict: Seriously yummy. Couldn’t even tell that I used part stevia.

4 Responses to “Nutty Pumpkin Bread”

  1. Yoda Smith Says:

    What brand of stevia do you use? You know, not all brands taste the same. I use SweetLeaf!

    • wendypchef Says:

      Yoda, I’m pretty new to the world of stevia. I bought NuNaturals More Fiber Stevia Baking Blend at the health food store because I was looking for a substitute for sugar when I was making ice cream. Needless to say I do NOT recommend this blend for ice cream! I ended up with bundles of blech. It worked well for the bread, though, and I like that it’s a one to one ratio. I couldn’t taste it at all. Next time I might try all stevia instead of sugar.

  2. dierdrejaine Says:

    First off, I ADORE Simply in Season. We (the cooks in my weekly community supper group) cook out of it all the time. Last night I made the Chipotle Pinto Beans (SIS p. 306) with cornbread from More With Less, and it was great! Anyway, a crazy good (though not necessarily healthy) substitution in the pumpkin bread is to switch out the raisins/dates for chocolate chips. So yummy….


Leave a Reply

